To say "SEO has changed a lot” would be the understatement of the decade. Just take a look at how Google’s Panda and Penguin algorithm updates shook the world of SEO professionals. Marketers and SEO agencies worldwide halted their link-building and keyword-obsessed ways, and swapped it for a long overdue focus on quality content.
But does that mean an SEO’s job is just to pump out high-quality, keyword-optimized content? Far from it. In fact, SEO has changed so much in the past several years that many marketers aren’t sure what’s outdated, what’s important, what will actually move the needle, and what’s simply a wasted effort. This blog post, an excerpt from our new ebook, 17 SEO Myths You Should Leave Behind in 2013, will point out seven of the most common myths and assumptions about how SEO works, and debunk them for you so you’re not wasting a single moment on things that simply don’t matter for SEO moving forward. Ready to throw some of your false SEO beliefs out the window? Let’s get started.

Myth #1: We Must Rank Number One

Studies of clickthrough rates and user behavior have shown that searchers favor the top search results -- particularly the top three listings. However, it’s also been shown that on subsequent pages, being listed toward the top of the page shows similar click behavior.
Now with search results also being appended with author profiles and rich snippets, clickthrough rates are proving to be higher on those listings even if they don't appear among the top results. The takeaway here is that relevant information and user-friendly listings are more valuable than just rank alone. So, no, you don't need to rank in first place anymore to see success.

Myth #2: Keywords Need to Be an Exact Match

Keywords do not need to be repeated verbatim throughout a piece of content. In titles in particular, it's far more important to use keywords in the way it makes most sense. Write a stellar headline (somewhere around 4-9 words) that focuses on clearly explaining what that particular piece of content is about. Nothing is more of a buzz kill than reading a headline
that’s awkwardly framed around one keyword phrase or, worse, one that forcibly repeats a keyword phrase. Keep in mind that this rule applies to both headlines and content on the page, too.
And in terms of the "ideal keyword density" for a given page, there is also no magic number. This myth is like a pesky little fly that keeps coming back no matter how many times you swat it. So for everyone who still clings to this one, there is no ideal number of times you should repeat a keyword on a given page. You should, however, make sure your keyword(s) are included in your page title. After all, how else will people know what your page is about? The keyword (or a variation of it) should also be included in a headline on the page, ideally also within the URL, and at least once within the content. Again, the goal is to make your content clear and to meet the expectations of the searcher; that’s why they clicked through to your page, so don’t assault them with over-optimized content.

Myth #3: Social Media & SEO Aren't Related at All

The intersection of SEO and social media is referred to as “social search.” And yes, social search is very much a real thing. An increasingly formal relationship between search and social has been evolving for years, and Google has been working hard to prove this with Google+ and Google Authorship. It’s a natural extension of what has always been true: Content that’s relevant and can be trusted as authoritative will continue to drive both your search and social media marketing.
In social search, content that has a social connection to you in some way is prioritized, which could mean someone you are linked to via Facebook, Twitter, or any other major social network. Alternately, some forms of social search prioritize content that has been shared by social media influencers, even if those experts aren’t directly tied to you. The lesson, folks, is to make sure you have a social media strategy and think of it as part of your search engine optimization efforts -- the two should not be working as silos. If you're looking to learn more about social search, this blog post has a crystal clear explanation of how social media influences SEO.

Myth #4: The H1 Is the Most Important On-Page Element

Think of the content structure on your web page as an outline. It’s a tiered approach to presenting information to a user -- and to search engines. What title tag that headline/thesis is wrapped in has little to no influence on your overall SEO. In fact, that title tag (whether H1, H2, H3 …) is only used for styling purposes. The H1 (heading 1) tag is simply part of your CSS (cascading style sheet), which a designer puts together to reference what font styling and size will be applied to a particular piece of content.
This used to be something that was more important. Now, however, search engines are much smarter than that, and unfortunately, people spammed this to death. So it really doesn't matter what header tag you use as long as you present your most important concepts up front, or closer to the top of the page. Remember, you are optimizing your page for users first and foremost, which means you should want to tell them ASAP what your page is about through a clear headline.

Myth #5: Microsites and Other Domains I Own That Link or Redirect Back to My Site Will Help My SEO

The chances of this doing much for you are slim to none. It’s like voting for yourself a thousand times in an election: It will still only count as one vote. Search engines are smart enough to know who a particular domain's registrant is, and they'll see that it’s the same person as your primary domain. And if you're reading this and thinking, "But what If i just change my registration information?" then you are clearly thinking like a spammer. Don’t be that person.
Furthermore, there isn't much value in spreading your SEO thin, which is what you'll end up doing by setting up domain after domain ... after domain ... and optimizing each separately rather than putting all that love into your primary domain. Why not just add that content to your primary domain, or build a tool as an add-on to your website?

Myth #6: More Links Is Better Than More Content

This myth is one that often comes along with the question, “Which should I invest in -- link building or content creation?” Yes, inbound links are an important part of your website’s authority (even with the changing link landscape); however, if you have budget to invest in your website, I would say, “Hire someone to write for you” in a heartbeat. All too often, when businesses hire someone to do link building, they focus on the quantity rather than the quality of those links. But linking is not a numbers game anymore. Instead, it's more important to focus on attracting relevant and diverse sources that link to relevant pages on your website. And when you invest in content, which can take the form of web pages, blog articles, lead generation offers, and guest articles on other sites -- these are all content assets that will enable you to generate more inbound links over time.
That being said, if you're among the group of people who think that as long as you have a good blog or some good content, then your SEO is secure -- I wouldn’t go that far. Don’t get me wrong, good content will take you a long way, but it can’t be the only tool in your SEO tool kit. Years ago, when HubSpot first started teaching people about search engine optimization, one rule was essential: Above all else, create high-quality, useful content. But now you need to ask yourself more of the following: Are you writing with a purpose? Who is your target audience? Have you analyzed your traffic sources and top performing posts? What keywords are you targeting? If all of these sound foreign to you, then you’re missing the mark,
and content alone will only get you so far.

Myth #7: SEO Is Not a Usability Issue

This one truly grinds my gears. SEO has evolved from simply getting found, to improving how users engage with your content. In fact, SEO, which technically stands for search engine optimization, is so much more than just optimizing for search engines. First and foremost, you need to optimize for users so they actually click through your search listings to your website. And once they click through, they should stay there.
To keep visitors on your site, ensure that you’re publishing content that’s both personalized and relevant to your target audience. You should also make an effort to create a website that's intuitive and easy to browse through (accessible by search crawlers and users). Don’t make visitors look for what they need. Display clear calls-to-action, and you’ll be much more capable of converting those users. That’s what SEO is really all about -- search experience optimization.
Curious to know what other common myths might be negatively influencing your SEO strategy? Download our ebook for the full list of commonly believed SEO myths so you can base your SEO strategy on fact -- not fiction.

Source : http://blog.hubspot.com/blog/tabid/6307/bid/33926/7-Common-SEO-Myths-to-Throw-Out-the-Window-Immediately.aspx

6 ways to increase your Google search ranking

Posted on 03:33 In: ,
One of the main marketing strategies that can help online retailers build a successful Internet business is search engine optimization (SEO), the process of tailoring your website to the algorithms that search engines use to rank websites based on “signals” that the site emits.

However, search engine algorithms continue to change with time as the Web evolves (Panda Updates, anyone?), so online retailers need to evolve with the engines. We must make sure we keep up to date with best practices to claim the best possible rankings for relevant keywords.
If you want your website to rank well in 2012, here are 6 components of SEO that online retailers should know about when optimizing their e-commerce website to rank well in top search engines:

1. Keywords. Keyword research is the first step to a successful SEO strategy. Those successful with SEO understand what people are searching for in a search engine. These are the keywords they use to drive targeted traffic to their products. Start brainstorming potential keywords, and see how the competition looks by using Google AdWords Keyword Tool. If you notice that some keywords are too competitive in your niche, go with long-tail keywords (between two and five words) which will be easier for you to rank. The longer the keyword, the less competition you will have for that phrase in the engines.

2. Meta tags. Meta tags still play a vital role in SEO. If you type any keyword into a search engine, you’ll see how that keyword is reflected in the title for that page. Google looks at your page title as a signal of relevance for that keyword. The same holds true for the description of that page. (Don’t worry about the keyword title tag—Google has publicly said that it doesn’t pay attention to that tag, since it has been abused by webmasters and all those trying to rank for certain keywords.)

3. Content. It’s true, content is king. Search engines have stated that creating quality content is the best way to not only rank for keywords, but also create positive user experiences. It will also go a long way with making sure you’re educating your consumer, and being an authority in your niche will leads to boosts in sales.

4. Backlinks. If content is king, then backlinks are queen. Remember, it’s not about which site has the most links, but who has the most quality links pointing back to their website. Build backlinks by submitting monthly or bi-monthly press releases on any exciting company, and contacting popular blogs in your niche to see how you can work together to get a backlink from their website. Create the best possible product site you can, so people talking about the products you sell will link back. Try creating graphics or newsworthy content that will influence bloggers and news websites to link that content.

5. Social media. The algorithms have truly changed since social media first emerged. Many content websites are community-oriented—Digg began allowing users to vote which stories make the front page, and YouTube factors views and user ratings into their front page rankings. Therefore, e-commerce stores must establish a strong social media presence on sites like Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, etc. These social media sites send search engines signals of influence and authority.

6. Product images. If you think images don’t play a role, think again. When many consumers search for products in the search engines, not only are they looking at the “Web” results, but they’re also looking at the “images” results. If you have quality images of that product on your site—and the files’ names contain relevant keywords—these images will rank well in search engines. This avenue will drive a lot of traffic to your site, as potential customers will click on that image to find your store.

In addition to optimizing these six areas of your site, analyze your competitors and see what they are doing in terms of on-page optimization, off-page optimization (competitive link analysis) and social media. While you may be doing a lot of the same things they are, it’s incredibly important to think outside the box to get a leg up over the competition.

Source : 6 ways to increase your Google search ranking
Social Media

17 Ways to Get De-indexed by Google

Posted on 05:42 In: ,

Imagine this: In a blink of an eye your website vanishes from Google. Trying every variation of your domain name in the search box — but nothing. You, my friend, have been de-indexed from Google.
De-indexed by Google
That’s a tragic place to be in. All your hard work gone up in smoke, you are effectively invisible to everyone in the world now. This is exactly the spot that iAcquire found themselves in May 2012 when they were caught up in the Dun and Bradstreet link buying scandal. JC Penny, Forbes, and Overstock also found themselves in a similar position (being penalized for link buying, but not necessarily flushed from Google’s index).
Never mind whether or not you agree with Google’s rules, and the punishment meted out, Google’s rules are the ones everyone has to play by. These rules, and the penalties, should not really surprise anyone. And no one should need to have described how crucial search is to a business’ success online either. Although social recommendations are catching up, search remains the number one way to drive traffic a website. All this is common knowledge, I only reiterate to hammer home how crucial it is to have a healthy relationship with search engines.
Now that we’re focused on the horror of “de-indexing”, unnatural link acquisition isn’t the only way to get banned by Google. There are actually quite a few more. If you are new to SEO, let this be a warning. If you are a seasoned SEO, let this be a reminder—or a crib sheet you can forward to anyone who is suggesting you do WHATEVER it takes to rank them. Here’s a list of absolute “don’ts” where ranking is concerned.

1. Cloaking

The cloaking process works like this: You show search engines one thing and your visitors something else. The most obvious example would be a site promoting kayaking in the search results, but sending the searcher to a pornographic page. Or one selling Viagra. Or some shady off-shore tax scheme.
Cloaking is accomplished by delivering content based upon the IP address or the User-Agent HTTP. If a search spider is detected, then a server-side script delivers the kayak version of the page. If a user is detected, then the pornographic content is served.
This practice is deceptive—and flat-out forbidden by Google.

2. Duplicate Content

Black hat SEOs will try to boost page views by creating multiple pages of the same content. This is a pretty straightforward tactic, but is equally condemned by Google. Spammy sites and repeat offenders will more than likely get canned from Google—or at least dropped to the bottom of the barrel in search rankings.
Here’s the thing: You can inadvertently create duplicate content on your website through category, tag, and archive pages. This won’t get you banned from Google, but it could get you penalized.
And what about people stealing your content? Notify Google.

3. Writing Content with a Machine

As you can probably guess, black hat SEOs are lazy, and this vice is seen most clearly in the tactic of getting machines to create content.
Sometimes this is generated from scratch, but more often than not, this content is created by scraping already existing content, modifying the document, and then re-publishing.
The motto in this example is “I’m not going to waste my time creating content when I can borrow someone else’s and make it mine.” Google will punish this.

4. Add Unrelated Keywords to Your Content

Keywords aren’t what they used to be in the search marketing game, so you don’t see a lot of keyword stuffing anymore. But that doesn’t mean Google won’t punish this practice. You see, some SEOs still recommend this.
Never list keywords that don’t relate to your site, repeat a keyword that does relate to your site dozens of time, and embed brand name (trademarked no less) and competitor name keywords. This may not only get you banned, but it could get you a lawsuit.

5. Joining Link Exchanges and Bad Neighborhoods

Online etiquette says that if someone links to you that you should link back to them. Well, that’s debatable.
Google will judge your external links just as closely as they will evaluate the incoming links to your site — and they will evaluate the quality of those sites sending and getting links from you. Linking out to low-quality sites can damage your reputation and lower your Page Rank. Trade in paid links and you will get banned. Just ask iAcquire.

6. Font Matching


Another old-school black hat tactic is to plaster keywords on a site in the same color as the background, inevitably hiding those keywords.
It’s laughable how easy this is for Google or anyone to spot (the keywords show up in the code as text—as does every other element of a webpage—no matter what color the font). What’s not so funny is the penalty; you could get dumped from Google.

7. Microscopic Font

Another variation of keyword stuffing is to place keywords at the bottom of a webpage in font so small that it’s incomprehensible to the naked eye.
Again, Google can de-index a site for this (no matter the size of the font search spiders still read the same code) for trying to game the system.

8. Stacking Titles

You have to give it to the old school black hat SEOs. They are a creative bunch. Title <title> stacking means nothing more than writing more than one headline for a page—stuffing keywords into those titles. You’ll get no love from Google on this.
If you want to optimize your headlines with keywords, then front-load the headline with those critical words … and take full advantage of all 70 characters.

9. Doorway Pages

This is a tricky one because doorway pages are in the end landing pages optimized for one keyword. The difference between a legitimate keyword optimized landing page and one that Google will pooh-pooh is that the legitimate page provides original content.
For example, bloggers will often create a hub page for a series of articles they did on a particular topic, like “content marketing” or “social media metrics.” They’ll provide an introduction (unique and useful) and then links to those pages in the series.
A spammy doorway page optimized for “content marketing” will not provide original content (and probably employ one of the black hat tactics above) and will not send you to useful content—more likely an ad to buy Viagra from some offshore pornographic studio.
Spammy doorway pages can get you banned. And this is why you need to be careful if you are using landing pages for affiliate links.

10. Point 100 URLs to One URL

Because keyword-rich, exact match domains are still a strong indicator of a site’s content, people want to abuse this by buying every single domain available—plurals, misspellings, adjectives, location, and loaded with keywords. Just think used-clean-cars-sale-city.com.
Next, they point all of these URLs to one domain because, they figure, 100 hits a day to 500 different websites is 50,000 hits a day. Makes sense, right?
That would be super cool if it worked out that way, but it doesn’t What happens is, these sites aren’t indexed except the one—and it may not be your main domain. Busted.

11. Abusing Rich Snippets Markup


Google automatically generates the rich snippets you see on search results these days, but that doesn’t mean they won’t intervene by disabling rich snippets for a certain site if they detect abuse or deception—like marking up invisible content or deceptive content.
Rich snippets can be gamed by creating fake reviews or, like the cloaking tactic, show Google one thing and deliver something completely different to the user (like cheap Viagra through an offshore pornographic site). This destroys user experience and will bring Google’s wrath down on you.

12. Sending Automated Queries to Google

Remember WebPosition Gold—the software tool that automatically tested a keyword’s organic popularity using Google’s SOAP API?
If you’re new to SEO, then probably not, because back in late 2006 Google changed its webmaster guidelines and killed WPG:
“As of December 5, 2006, we are no longer issuing new API keys for the SOAP Search API. Developers with existing SOAP Search API keys will not be affected.”
Here’s the deal: Google hates automated queries. Why? In their own words:
Sending automated queries consumes resources and includes using any software (such as WebPosition Gold) to send automated queries to Google to determine how a website or webpage ranks in Google search results for various queries. In addition to rank checking, other types of automated access to Google without permission are also a violation of our Webmaster Guidelines and Terms of Service.
Violate that and you get penalized. The consequences vary.

13. Building Water-thin Affiliate Sites

Making money selling other people’s products is a viable way to make a living. This is why online affiliate programs are pure gold for people who want a passive income.
But if your website is nothing but a warehouse for other people’s products (Read: You are not creating original content, but, worse, simply scraping product descriptions from the producers) and you’ve adopted a paper-thin template, then Google won’t tolerate you.
Mess with the user experience and you make an enemy of Google.
To get around this professional affiliate, marketers need to invest time and energy in providing useful and relevant content, as well as building sites with safe and secure themes and long-term hosting signals.

14. Scraping Content


Black hat SEO is really short-cut SEO. It’s the lazy man’s way to high rankings. These SEO tactics trade in short-term gains at the expense of long-term success. This is equally true for scarping content, scraping content is not something that the average person will do because most of us are programmed to know that taking something that isn’t ours is wrong.
But there are some fine lines on the Web. I’ve run into people who thought it was okay to copy and paste an article to their website—as longs as they left attribution (without the link). Sometimes they did link, but still grabbed the entire article. Still others publish a portion, but even this can spell trouble with Google.
The bottom line is this: “Are you producing original content?” This is where curators can get in trouble, too, if they aren’t adding value above and beyond the original site holder.

15. Sneaky Redirects

The adjective in the title of this section is a dead giveaway: “Sneaky.” That means there are some legal redirects, the 301 being the most common—sending a visitor to a different URL than the one requested. The most common example is when you are moving a site from mydomain.com to myrockstardomain.com.
So, what differentiates an honest redirect from a sneaky one? Well, when you are trying to be deceptive. You’ll break WNT laws if you use some type of technology like meta refresh or JavaScript to shift the direction a searcher is travelling—in other words, when you toy with the user experience. What happens is the googlebots will index the original URL, but not the redirect.
Of course you can use JavaScript legitimately to redirect people, like in the case of moving users to an internal page once they are logged in, or even, as a hack, to redirect your site after moving it if you don’t have access to the server (not your best choice, though).

16. Duplicate Sites

By now you should know that this is dead ringer for a Google Webmaster Guidelines violation. You should be saying to yourself, “Google rewards those who contribute value to the Web and user experience.” Google punishes lazy webmasters.
People who create duplicate sites are usually trying to outrank the original site. This might be an affiliate who wants to rank above the company he or she is promoting. And because it’s not a unique site with unique content, it gets canned.

17. Interlinking

Some SEOs might argue that this is grey hat: You know … it’s a method that exists in the grey area of SEO tactics — not necessarily black, but not necessarily white. Regardless, Google will punish you if you are guilty of interlinking.
What is interlinking? It’s basically a scheme that takes advantage of the importance of inbound links in search engine ranking by building dozens of sites, and then linking to each other.
This is a tough scheme to detect by either Googlebot or users—unless someone delves into some serious sleuthing or notices that a handful of similar sites dominate the search engines in the search listings. If caught all the sites could get de-indexed.

Conclusion

You might consider yourself a true white hat SEO guru, but falling into using one of these schemes (or some slight variation of them) can ruin anyone’s reputation. If you get a message in your WMT inbox indicating that there are serious problems with your site, the wages of SEO sin can come back to haunt.
If you are reading this, let’s say you do wake up one morning and find yours or your client’s site gone from Google. Sure you can appeal and recover — like iAcquire did, but there has to be some serious boot-licking and website code overhauling going on. What risk it? I hope this has helped.

Source : 17 Ways to Get De-indexed by Google

Guest Blogging is a way to get free exposure and traffic to your site and content articles. Guest Blogging has turned into a very popular method for bloggers to obtain name presently. To be an excellent Guest Blogger you have to set goals and work hard to offer the best results each time.

Guest Blogging Tips

Guest Blogging Tips

When offering a guest post on a blog you have to remember, the blog post you have written should be relevant to that site’s niche and readers. The article must meet your needs, bringing you visitors and exposure perhaps even money.

Use the following advice to become the very best Guest Blogger:-

1. You have to know your objectives. Note them down, what you would like to get from your guest post – more visitors, traffic, and publicity and so on. Find the blogs which are related to your own niche.

2. When you offer a guest blog to a blogger then you first work should be to read the guest posting guidelines because if you offer a post which doesn’t fulfill the guidelines, Admin will not even going to respond you sometimes.

It’s the prime duty of every guest blogger to read the guidelines thoroughly and follow each and every point.

Don’t Miss : Guest Posting Bombshell: 3 Strategies To Write Exceptional Guest Posts

3. The next step is to submit your guest post to review. Believe me if you fulfill every point of guidelines then your article will not be rejected. Any host blogger loves to publish those posts which are as per the guidelines.

4. Coming to the article quality, as you know content is king but when it is 100% unique so never copy anything from anywhere. Just provide 100% unique article so the result will end up being perfect. You may share your personal viewpoints in your article as it makes the article more interesting.

5. If you’re good in a few niches example technology, marketing etc. come up with that. And write towards the top blogs for the reason that niche. No need to create about things which are not in your own niche because if you’re strong in one niche then its good to stick with that.

6. As its being said everywhere that an image is worth 1000 words which is correct, you have to provide an image along with your guest post. Choosing an image is not the work of Admin. It the you who has to select the image and also give the image credit if necessary. Image means not just any image, Image must reflect the essence of the article.

7. So now after doing everything your post is live. So do you think your work is over?
NO!
Your work is not over once the article is posted, even your work starts now. You must share the post on your social media profiles. Also you have to interact with the readers of that post and give solutions to their questions asked via comment form. You need to keep the discussion going on in the comments. This helps in your personal branding as well as better engagement on host blog.

Don’t Miss : Guest Blogging – The Do’s and Don’ts to Follow to Get it Accepted
8. Be smart whenever you reply to comments. Top blogs have a number of different readers which will analyze your post and post their own comments, be wise whenever you reply to individual comments. Because there are plenty of different opinions available and many of them won’t be the same as your viewpoint.

9. In case your first article obtained good response then the host blogger willing to get more post from you from the next time. That is why you need to build the trust with the host blogger first and of course always deliver the quality work.

10. Forgot to mention above so mentioning here that never use the same author bio everywhere as it creates similar content issue. Use a bit different author bio on different blogs. One more thing, at the time of writing you author bio don’t write about your services and all. Just write about your area of expertise, about your knowledge and a line for your blog.

These are just a couple steps and tips to become a good guest blogger. Be natural, be honest and become Unique.


7 Small Business SEO Tips

Posted on 03:19 In: ,

website-8-traffic-sources
Every year SEO gets more complicated as Google rolls out updates and changes the rules. This is especially frustrating for small business owners who don't have the time or resources to stay current in, what they believe to be, an esoteric and confusing industry.
Here are seven small business SEO tips to help earn more business through traditional organic search rankings.

1. Onsite SEO is Necessary But Not Sufficient

Yes, optimizing title tags, site structure (keep it flat) and load-speed are important. Many experiments have shown these elements are in the Google algorithm.
Don’t obsess. Hire someone to run an assessment and tune up the site; then move-on. Far too many small businesses get stuck at the starting line.

2. Website Content & Experience Are Critical

We have all read that “content is king,” but what does that really mean?
Your website must have engaging content for the end-user. The importance of this can’t be overstated. It will impact time-on-site, conversion and SEO (engaging content is more likely to be shared and linked to).
It is also critical because it orients the small business webmaster towards offering something of value. Thin content leaves a bad footprint, both onsite and offsite.

3. Use Content Marketing to Earn Backlinks

Most small business owners are savvy enough to know that 70 percent of their search engine rankings are the result of backlinks. Being a pragmatic bunch, they then ask “where can I buy some?”
Don’t buy backlinks - it also leaves a bad footprint.
Small business marketers need to earn links, and content marketing is extremely effective for gaining earned links. The trick is in the trade. Something of value must be offered.
Quality content containing humor, information, controversy, politics or training usually brings backlinks - and is definitely considered acceptable SEO.

4. Know Your Backlink Profile

There has been healthy debate recently about the changing role of anchor text in the Google algorithm. Even if the importance is fading, it is clearly still a factor.
Small businesses should know their backlink profiles. A lack of branded anchors and brand mentions is a clear signal of manipulation, and therefore a rank killer.
Healthy businesses market their brands through press releases and are discussed in forums by name. This all leaves a good footprint.
Co-citation is also a sign of a natural backlink profile. Strong companies are mentioned in the same paragraph as other strong brands.
Articles with a single anchored link to a website with low domain authority sticks out like a sore thumb. Google can spot these insubstantial articles and weighs the links accordingly, or worse. Read about the Penguin update for more.

5. Create Buzz Through Community Building

While the term link bait is perhaps overused, it is considered an acceptable activity by Google. This is because the activity is aimed toward creating a positive end-user experience.
Without a community element, link baiting is hard to distinguish from content marketing. Developing a community (best if done onsite) is perhaps the best link bait of all because the community starts to develop the content in ways no SEO consultant could ever think of.
This is truly organic, extremely natural, and helps SEO. Read up on Latent Semantic Indexing if this concept is confusing.

6. Quality Over Quantity

It is tempting to fall for the email solicitations for large quantities of inexpensive links. But we all know where that got JCPenney.
The SEO industry isn't like the automobile industry, where automation is praised as a gain in efficiency. Automation in SEO is bad because Google says it is. They believe it results in a poorer end-user experience, an argument that has merit.
Small businesses may not like this rule, but they do need to respect it if they want to see increases in rankings.

7. Review the SEO Reports

Small business owners are busy, but that is no excuse for not knowing what the SEO consultant is doing. It's important to digest the monthly reports for a couple of reasons:
  • The results should be moving in the right direction. Don’t expect miracles, just monthly progress.
  • The monthly reports should demonstrate that the SEO team is executing with a disciplined process. Small business should not foot the bill for experiments. There is enough risk facing small business owners already.

Conclusions

Google is a computer, largely, and needs to be thought of as such. The major elements in the algorithm are fairly well understood.
While it's true that updates are frequent and the rules of the game do shift, the major elements of onsite SEO and backlinks have been the fuel for better rankings for years. Follow these seven small business SEO tips to earn better rankings and build a community around your brand. And ignore the rest as noise.

Source : Small Business SEO Tips

Social media analytics can be a boon for businesses that use it wisely. Two founders of social data start-ups explain what they've learned so far.

5 tools for twitter power users

At the Mashable Media Summit in New York on Friday, founders of two social analytics start-ups--Parse.ly’s Sachin Kamdar and SocialFlow’s Frank Speiser--spoke on a number of emerging trends they’ve seen from the heaps of social data they monitor.
Below are five points that Kamdar and Speiser think businesses should know about social media:
    1. Viral content on Twitter lasts longer than it does on Facebook. “When content goes viral on Twitter, you have an influencer picking it up and then another influencer picking it up and it trends that way,” said Kamdar, whose company tracks 3.5 billion page views from content and digital media websites. “On Facebook, you’re going to hit more people but the life cycle is going to be shorter.”
    Speiser added that businesses shouldn’t “beg influencers” to re-tweet their content, but instead produce “tweets” that are likely have utility for their audience.

    2. LinkedIn is emerging as a distribution mechanism for content. “Right now, what we see is that business and education related items tend to do really well on LinkedIn,” Kamdar said. “I think more and more traffic is going to be coming from LinkedIn, as they start to have their own organic content and push their own editorial strategies.”
      3. Don’t ignore your search strategy. While Speiser’s company focuses on Twitter data and algorithms to help companies engage users, he said companies should still value search. “There’s no way I’m going to convince you to stop spending money on search because it works,” he said. Kamdar agreed: “For any website, there’s some SEO that you just need to do.”
        4. The worth of an individual "like" is not a good measure. “If you don’t build your audience with the contextual intention for them to consume that type of content, the 'likes' work against you,” said Speiser. “The 'like' itself is hard to value because the way you got it matters more than the fact that you have it.”
          5. Social data is only one piece of the puzzle. Because social functions have spread across all company operations, Kamdar said social media data should be married with other data to present the best opportunities for businesses. “You want to combine social media on the brand side with sales or on the media side with users,” he said. “Businesses should really try to build social data back into other areas of their organization.”.

          Source : 5 Insider Tips for a Better Social Media Strategy

            Guest blogging is a win-win strategy used by websites and blogs owners in order to increase their pages’ visibility on the web. The host bloggers see it as an opportunity to obtain fresh content without having to write it themselves or to pay a ghostwriter for the job. Moreover, guest blogs bring a different perspective and new topics. On the other hand, guest writers are rewarded a number of backlinks towards their own pages. This helps their SEO and drives more traffic to their website.
            Despite its great potential for both parties, guest blogging is rarely properly done. Here are a few tips to help you build a successful guest blogging strategy:

            1. Take the time to study the host website

            Guest blogging is not only an optimizing strategy. It is also a way of getting your voice heard across the web. Browsing the website you are planning to submit your post to will allow you understand what its readership is. You will thus be able to choose an interesting topic and to adapt your writing style accordingly. Take the host website’s architecture into consideration when picking your topic and check whether the subject hasn’t already been approached. If this is the case, ask yourself the following question: Can I bring a different perspective and new pieces of information? If the answer is negative, brainstorm for another topic.

            2. Write for your audience

            A common mistake bloggers frequently do is writing for search engines and losing sight of their readers. If they want to increase their pages’ position, most webmasters will reject over-optimized keywords stuffed articles for a simple reason: Google penalizes such blogging behavior and no one wants to fall in the disgrace of the virtual world’s major player. Research your keywords and introduce them naturally, without overdoing it.

            3. Turn the author’s bio into a marketing tool

            Craft a detailed bio, providing the relevant pieces of information that position you as an expert in the field you are writing about. This increases your words’ credibility. With the amount of information currently available on the World Wide Web, anyone can write about anything. However, this does not make them experts in the topic they are blogging about. Therefore, when writing the bio, explain your readers why they should take your opinions into consideration.

            4. Respect your quality standards




            If your article is meant to be uploaded on somebody else’s blog, this does not mean that you don’t have to respect your usual quality standards. Structure your ideas, pick your words, and check your spelling and grammar as if you were writing for your own website. After all, each guest post takes back to your pages. A poorly organized article or one filled with typos is not likely to persuade readers to click on the links you inserted. Such a guest post will bring little benefits to your blog.

            5. Check your facts

            Informative well written articles are more likely to be accepted. Do your homework, make a proper research and check your facts. Nothing could be more embarrassing both for you and for the webmaster who has published your post than a comment proving your sayings wrong.

            6. Avoid self promotion

            It is true that guest blogging is meant to make your pages more visible and to drive traffic towards them, but too much self promotion will only decrease your post’s chances of being accepted. The best strategy is to find blogs and websites focused on an adjacent topic. For instance, if you have a photography blog, you can look for travel, wedding or party planning websites.

            7. Choose your host carefully




            Just like in the offline world, the entourage says many things about you. This is a crucial criteria search engines use to calculate a website’s page rank. Therefore, evaluate your relationships carefully. Spammers are the worst alliance within the blogging world. A glance at Alexa toolbar will provide you with valuable information about your potential host. Check out the website’s rank, the back links redirecting to it and the traffic flow its pages have been driving.

            8. Introduce yourself

            When pitching a guest blogging opportunity, start by introducing yourself. You don’t have to send over your curriculum vitae. Keep things simple. Provide your potential host bloggers with the pieces of information they need in order to trust you. It is advisable you use your real name, but even if you don’t, be persistent. Pick a suggestive pen name and stick to it. When approaching a blogger for the first time, show samples of previous posts you have published and come up with a topic. You could also mention the social media channels through which you are planning to promote your post. Proving that you have a good number of Facebook likes or Twitter followers may give you more chances to have your post accepted.

            9. Create a personal relationship

            The first step is to personalize your message. Canned e-mails put people off and this will decrease your chances of getting an answer, left aside having your article published. Then, try to engage with your peer webmaster on topics that would concern you both. You may not get together for a beer, especially if your host blogger lives on the other side of the Earth, but it will help you open new doors and discover new opportunities.

            10. Don’t take no for an answer

            Although the above mentioned pieces of advice will certainly decrease your chances of rejection, nobody’s perfect. If your peer blogger does not accept your post, ask for details about the reasons. Remain polite and take the rejection as an improvement opportunity. Brush up your article and re-submit it, letting the host blogger know about the amendments you made and thanking for the chance.
            By following these simple tips, you will increase your chances of having your posts accepted from the very first submission, even if you are approaching the most demanding webmasters. This will help you create valuable relationships within the blogging world and build a successful guest blogging campaign.

            10 SEO Truths of 2012 for Agencies & In-House Teams

            Posted on 22:36 In:
            Search engine optimization (SEO) agencies, professionals, and in-house teams have difficult jobs. They must obtain improved organic search results as quickly as possible given a limited budget and timeframe, while Google changes its algorithm on a daily basis and competitors continue to optimize their web presence.
            It’s pretty safe to say that managing the clients’ or boss’ expectations in this turbulent environment are almost more difficult than the moving target of SEO itself.

            Over the past three years, the SEO landscape has changed for the better, with Google’s continued and unwavering focus on the concept of relevance. However, three aspects of SEO haven't changed at the same pace. The outcome is often a gap in expectations between the team delivering SEO services and the client literally banking on the results.

            The three aspects of SEO that haven't changed at the same pace as the SEO industry include:
            1. The way SEO services are marketed and sold.
            2. The processes around how SEO is delivered and reported on.
            3. The ability for agencies and in-house teams to prove the ROI of SEO efforts.
            But the importance of SEO in the digital marketing mix remains unchanged and unchallenged. There are consistently 1 billion Google searches performed every day with 94 percent of those searchers clicking on organic search results over paid search results. Patience will continue to be a virtue to the marketer who invests in SEO over the long run.

            Here are 10 SEO truths, based on conversations with agencies, in-house marketing teams and end clients over the past 12 months

            SEO Truth #1: Rank Doesn’t Matter, Conversion Does

            If I had a dime for every time I heard the statement, “Oh, we don’t need SEO, we already rank number one for [insert keyword here].”

            I witness many SEO conversations where improvement in rank or position is the focus without any consideration given to web page visits and conversions. Many prospects, clients, and bosses are lost in the infatuation of ranking first in Google. Unfortunately, because that’s what they want to pay for, that’s what they are sold and/or what we attempt to prove to them.

            The more important metric is conversion.
            It could be that a client wants to rank first for "HR Software", and they currently rank fifth for that keyword with a conversion rate of 5 percent, while a similar keyword phrase, ‘HR Software for SMBs’, has a conversion rate of 10 percent and is ranked ninth. Clearly the latter should be the focus since it already has a higher conversion rate with a lower rank.

            Assigning resources to understanding the opportunities throughout the web presence, and optimizing content for the keyword "HR Software for SMBs" is a better investment of time and money.

            SEO Truth #2: Great SEO Results Require Great SEO Data

            SEO is the ongoing process of understanding a web presence, how it compares to the competition, which keywords are driving organic search conversion, and optimizing for those keywords by producing fresh, relevant content. This process is impossible without access to accurate, timely data about that web presence including:
            • Page-level rank.
            • Backlink and social signal data.
            • Organic search keyword research.
            • Competitive intelligence.
            • Analytics conversion data.
            Basing SEO decisions on old, inaccurate SEO data will yield corresponding SEO results. SEO data is the starting point to the entire SEO process and outcome.

            Great insights will lead to great outcomes. SEO data and SEO software should be considered a cost of doing business or executing a campaign just as email marketing campaigns require an email marketing platform.

            SEO Truth #3: Report on Social Signals Just Like Backlinks

            Think of social signals as the new backlink. Now don’t get me wrong, backlinks are still important to organic search and should continue to be reported on, but social signals also deserve ongoing focus and integration into an SEO strategy.

            It has been two years since Google and Bing announced that social signals now account for 8 percent to 10 percent of their organic search algorithms. Agencies and in-house SEO teams need to demonstrate that they are increasing the number of Likes, shares, +1s, tweets, retweets and YouTube Views at both the web page level and the network level. Social signal metrics should be included in the monthly SEO report as well.

            SEO Truth #4: SEO Technology is Telling

            Just as a sales consultant hired to improve sales processes and ultimately conversion rates would not attempt to do so without customer relationship management (CRM) software, neither should an SEO agency or in-house team attempt to effectively improve a web presence for SEO without some support and assistance from technology.

            There are many SEO software and tool options – from full software systems to standalone tools. The technology and tools you select can make or break you, too.

            SEO technology is required more today than ever before in order to assist in the ongoing efforts of keyword research, rank checking, competitive analysis, backlink discovery and tracking, content tracking, analytics, social signal monitoring and monthly reporting capabilities.

            Going it alone, without the support of a technological foundation to track a web presence on a daily basis for the purpose of ranking higher organically in the search engines is like trying to do email marketing by BCCing your list from MS Outlook – your deliverability rates, open rates, and conversion rates will be immeasurable and less than expected.

            SEO Truth #5: Daily Insights into SEO Metrics is Essential

            The SEO reporting cycle is still very much a monthly process (although I’m seeing this standard move to weekly with larger agencies and marketing teams). Having daily and weekly insight into all the SEO metrics included in an SEO campaign is important to understand how your efforts are tracking towards the ultimate goal.
            Having the insight and intelligence to adjust the goal if more or less progress is being made than anticipated can only be accomplished with daily insight into accurate SEO data and metrics.

            SEO Truth #6: A Backlink Strategy Without a Content Marketing Strategy is Just Plain Scary

            Even after all the Panda, Penguin and Freshness updates, it's still amazing to see some agencies providing quotes to clients where the main thrust of the contract is a promise to build x number of backlinks per month. SEOs should continue to deliberately build backlinks in directories that are industry or locally specific to the client, but that’s where deliberate backlink building should end.

            To build long-term, non-spammy backlinks, an optimized content marketing strategy is required where fresh relevant optimized content is being produced on a consistent basis.

            Content may be in the form of blogs, press releases, case studies, and whitepapers wherein the content contains keywords that are driving organic search conversions as well as naturally occurring backlinks to the main corporate website. Not only will this approach to backlink building withstand the test of time, it will also create social signals which will also positively impact the web presence.
            optimized-content-marketing

            SEO Truth #7: Spend Less Time on Reporting, More Time on SEO

            A typical SEO contract consists of analysis, recommendations, implementation, and reporting. The most painful of which is reporting – mashing together end-of-month reports from multiple data sources to demonstrate progress to the end client, never mind trying to make it look pretty. Laborious, repetitive reporting takes away too much time from what will really pay off – the doing of SEO.
            This reinforces truth #4: SEO Technology is Telling. Making use of technology for weekly or monthly automated reporting will allow for more time being spent on the task of SEO which will yield better results for the client and will allow you to scale your business.

            SEO Truth #8: Think Outside the Google Search Box

            Yes, Google continues to be the entity that SEOs attempt to please, and rightfully so. I can’t see this focus changing in the near or distant future either.
            With the continual convergence of social media and SEO, we also need to think about the prospect of searchers starting their searches directly on social networking sites such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Pinterest. A web presence should be represented for its branded keyword phrases within these sites as well.
            Test your branded keywords and test your clients’ branded keywords to see if they return the expected search results on these social networks. If not, optimize!

            SEO Truth #9: Communicate the CTR Opportunity Gap by Keyword

            Once there is an understanding of the high-converting keywords, it is worth the exercise of applying paid search volume data with organic click-through rates (CTRs) to communicate the opportunity gap between ranking ninth versus third.
            Let’s use the keyword “HR Software” as an example. The total Google search volume (U.S., Canada, and Australia) is 2,120 searches per month, combined with the fact that 94 percent of searchers click through on organic search results (GroupM UK and Nielsen, August 2012). Given Optify’s CTR data for positions 1 through 20, the opportunity gap can be communicated to the client.
            2,120 monthly searches * 94 percent = 1992 * 3.0 percent /30 days = 2 daily click-throughs for Position 9 in Google.com for the keyword "HR Software"

            daily-estimated-click-throughs-hr-software-seo-vs-ppc-google
            Position 9 will yield 60 clicks per month (2 clicks per day * 30 days) while increasing to Position 3 will yield 180 clicks per month (6 clicks per day * 30 days) presenting an opportunity gap of 180-60 = 120 clickthroughs per month. What value does this translate into for the client?

            SEO Truth #10: It’s About the Hierarchy of Web Presence Optimization

            Search engine optimization is now more about web presence optimization. As the ways we sell and deliver SEO services continue to evolve, the hierarchy of web presence optimization is a model that may help structure sales contracts and service delivery tasks while ensuring that keyword metrics are focused on conversion, backlinks are built out effectively, and social signals are integrated into the overall SEO strategy.

            hierarchy-of-web-presence-optimization-2


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            The brightest and most insightful marketing minds in the industry will be gathering at SES New York, March 25-28. SAVE up to $1000 on an All Access Pass now through December 13. Register today!


            25 Ways to Learn SEO for Free

            Posted on 00:48 In: , ,
            Search engine optimisation, albeit often rumoured to be dead or about to die, is getting more and more popular as a career path. It’s hardly taught anywhere formally, one of the reasons being its ever-changing nature (by the time you get a University course prepared and approved it’s already largely outdated). The bars to entry into the industry are ridiculously low – or insanely high, depending on how you look at it. There is no formal certification but there are plenty sources of information and too many of them are either outdated or complete garbage. There is no lack of SEO conferences and workshops – but many of them are quite expensive, speakers sometimes pitch their services rather than provide useful information, and travel costs do add up as well. So how do you learn SEO without making costly mistakes and spending a fortune?

            Believe it or not, there are ways to do it completely free or almost free. The ways listed below range from easily doable by anyone to ones requiring certain skills/knowledge, but it all depends on your character and how willing you are to learn. Majority of these ways also require serious social skills – so while our industry is known for stories about making millions from home in your pyjamas never having to meet other people, you probably cannot afford not having social skills at all.
            So let’s see how SEO education costs can be cut down to 0 or close.

            ONLINE

            1. Start by reading a good introductory guide – SEOMoz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO would do. However, this is just the very beginning – don’t stop there. This is just an introduction to help you learn the lingo and be able to understand what it’s all about further on. I find it bewildering with the increasing complexity of our trade how an increasing number of people claim they know SEO after sitting in a two-week course or attending a basic conference. Don’t be like that, keep learning.

            2. Read worthy industry blogs. Right, this begs the question which ones are worthy. Use the same judgement you would use evaluating any other information online – what do experienced people in the industry consider reliable sources of information?

            3. Follow reputable SEOs on Twitter and read what they share. Look at lists of Twitter users by topic some people are putting together – whoever is included in most of the lists is typically the SEOPs most worth following.

            seo lists twitter 251x300 25 Ways to Learn SEO for Free

            4. Follow reputable SEOs on Facebook and read what they share there.

            5. Follow reputable SEOs on Google+ and read what they share there.

            6. Read what comes from the search engines – update announcements, interviews with engineers, help articles. But don’t just take their word for it.

            7. Get a site. Some hobby site you wouldn’t be afraid to lose. Experiment with it. Track your results. Read the server logs. They make the best read once you’ve got the hang of it and provide plenty of insight.

            8. Read SEO forums. Not the kind that are built around promoting a product/series of products but neutral ones where advertising is limited. Take what you read with a pinch of salt. A couple of forums to get you started: http://www.webmasterworld.com/, http://www.cre8asiteforums.com/forums/index.php and http://forums.seochat.com/ (as you get more experienced and better connected in the community you might even end up getting invited to “secret” forums, too – but unfortunately I cannot share those)

            9. Participate in Google+ Hangouts, including those run by Google reps. Ask questions – not just fluffy ones but uncomfortable ones too. You may never get a reply but it doesn’t hurt to ask.

            10. Regularly check SEO-related Quora discussions. Ask questions yourself.

            11. LinkedIn groups and questions – many of them are spammed to death but sometimes interesting things can be spotted as well.

            12. Places like AnyAsq – people including those from the search engines run “ask me anything” sessions there sometimes. Read what they say and ask questions.

            13. Whenever there is a conference going on anywhere, read the tweets with the conference hashtag – you’ll be amazed how well some conferences are covered by live tweeting. However, be careful so as not to take things out of context.

            14. Conference speakers usually share their slide decks – watch those. Combined with live tweets, they are almost as good as sitting in at the session.

            15. Some blogs, State of Search included, publish conference recaps – read these.

            OFFLINE

            16. Not all conferences are paid – there are a few free ones. There is BrightonSEO in the UK and I’m pretty sure there are some in the US as well. The tickets are limited so you have to be really quick to get them when they go on offer but if you go to one of these conferences, you are sure to learn quite a bit.

            17. Apart from major conferences, there are also less formal events out there that are also free. These tend to be more local (such as Search London or OMN London) but will typically have quality speakers, often even the same people that speak at the big expensive events. Make sure you go to these events.

            18. There are even less informal meetups organised spontaneously with no regular schedule or place by SEOs here and there – listen closely on Twitter and Facebook when people you follow start talking about such meetups and try to get in.

            19. They don’t say for no reason that the most value of any conference is in the networking – a lot of good stuff is getting shared and discussed not at the formal conference sessions but over a beer afterwards. If you hang out in the “official” conference bar/restaurant/hotel and know a few faces you may just as well end up catching these juicy bits.

            brighton dome 300x225 25 Ways to Learn SEO for Free

            20. If you are social enough or have been around long enough to be friends with somebody speaking at a conference, many conferences let speakers bring somebody with them (known as +1). If you are cheeky enough to ask a speaker for a +1 and they happen to have it available, you can make it to a conference for free.

            21. Exhibitors/sponsors at conferences often get n free tickets. Many companies would just distribute them between people they know and some will run all sorts of competitions where you can win a free pass to the conference.

            22. Apply to be a speaker at a conference! Speakers usually get a free pass and can attend other sessions, and who’s to say if you’re qualified enough to speak on one topic there is nothing you can learn about other topics from other speakers?

            23. Some conferences will give you a discount (if not a free ticket) if you are a blogger and going to cover the conference. In some cases, you have to refer x people to buy conference tickets to get a free ticket for yourself.

            24. Offer some industry blog/news site to blog/live tweet an event for them if they cover the cost of your ticket.

            25. Persuade your employer the conference is good for your professional development and will help you achieve better results for the company so that the employer covers the ticket cost for you.
            As you see, nothing is impossible for those who want to learn. In an industry as intensive as SEO, it is vital to stay abreast of all current developments so we all learn something new every day. Both newcomers and seasoned professionals should never stop learning, and hopefully using these tips you can make learning SEO a fun and pleasant experience and not that much of a burden on your pocket.

            Source : 25 Ways to Learn SEO for Free

            Great Search Engine Optimization Tools

            Posted on 00:32 In:
            If you have a website online that is simple and attractive, then there are very minute chances that it will attract the high traffic and most importantly help you to make money online. It is important that a best website must have more excellent features than just the flashy or visual appeal. When a site is in on the World Wide Web, then there is a very high chance that it may get tough competition from the various other sites already present. The bad ranking of your website means that it has no place in an Internet World.

            As a business owner, if you are seriously looking to promote your website online, then with the help of the search engine optimization tools you can achieve success and create a robust presence on the Internet. If you are totally alien about the SEO concepts, then you can seek the services of a reputed company that provides the search engine optimization and marketing services. Here are the various important tools that will help you a lot to improve your business visibility online by leaps and bounds:

            SEMRush

            If your competitor’s search engine rankings are higher than you, then certainly it is not a good news for you. You must always try to keep an eagle’s eye on the keywords of your competitors so that you can incorporate them on to your website and gain good rankings. For this very purpose, you can use a popular tool that is known as SEMRush. It is essentially a free and paid tool used for the purpose of finding keywords to optimize and driving traffic to the website. That is not all as you can do lots of other great things with this particular tool.
            Besides digging out the keywords, you can also get the statistical details about the traffic; search volumes and the amount spend by the competitors on the AdWords ads. The best thing here is that you can export all the pivotal data in an Excel spreadsheet with the help of the tool. The tool helps you to efficiently analyze your competitors SEO strategy and improve your webpage positions in the major search engines.

            HubSpot

            HubSpot is a marketing software company that provides a convenient package or the tools to improve the traffic of the website, creating the unique and attractive content, converting the sale leads and analytics report. It makes every effort to drive a considerable amount of traffic on to the websites by efficiently marketing them through blogging and the various social media websites.

            Microsoft SEO ToolKit

            It is a great tool to that provides the tools to identify the SEO issues that are affecting the ranking and traffic of a website. The notable thing here is that this kit can be used in the various search engines such as the Google, Bing, Yahoo, etc to optimize the performance of your website. This tool also helps in increasing the traffic of the website and revenue, keep the search engines updated with your latest website information and discover the issues in the website design rectify them and enhance the user experience.

            GTmetrix

            GTmetrix is one of the best free tools that helps you to figure out the speed or loading time of your webpage. In today’s busy time, users do not have much time to wait and if your page eats up a lot of time to get loaded, then it is not good for your business. This tool creates a test score for your different web pages and also provides the useful measures to rectify the problem. If you are into an online business and desire to attract the prospective customers and excellent sales leads, then usage of this tool is a must for you.

            AHref

            Ahrefs is a great collection of the various SEO tools that helps in analyzing the new and the lost backlinks. There is a site explorer option where you can get the important information about the total backlinks, referring subnets, referring pages, backlink types and referring domains. So, with this excellent tool, you can look forward improve your website’s performance and enhance your market presence.

            SEOmoz

            SEOmoz is primarily a software development company that provides great SEO software’s that help in increasing the visibility and ranking of a website. Some of the best search engine optimization tools are as follows:
            • Campaign Manager: This tool helps in analyzing the website traffic, keyword rankings and detects the errors on the web pages.
            • Followerwonk: This tool helps in increasing the social presence. With this tool, you can connect with the people on various social networking websites, analyze their activities and market your product.
            • Link Analysis: This tool helps in analyzing the backlinks that is bringing the traffic to the website. You can also sort out the links to get more insights into the follow and no follow links.
            • On-Page Analysis: This tool helps in enhancing the optimal performance of the websites by providing a full report about the pages that have been optimized by using the targeted keywords.
            • Rank Tracking: This tool helps you to have a close tab on the rankings of your website in the major search engines (Google, Bing and Yahoo).
            • Crawl Test: This tool helps in identifying the problems in your website that is preventing the crawlers to index your web page.
            • SEO Toolbar: This tool helps in having a closer look at the link metrics and gets the Search Engine Results Page (SERP) results.
            • Keyword Analysis: This tool helps in analyzing the keywords that can boost traffic to your website.
            Source :  Great Search Engine Optimization Tools




            Guest blogging is a win-win strategy used by websites and blogs owners in order to increase their pages’ visibility on the web. The host bloggers see it as an opportunity to obtain fresh content without having to write it themselves or to pay a ghostwriter for the job. Moreover, guest blogs bring a different perspective and new topics. On the other hand, guest writers are rewarded a number of backlinks towards their own pages. This helps their SEO and drives more traffic to their website.
            Despite its great potential for both parties, guest blogging is rarely properly done. Here are a few tips to help you build a successful guest blogging strategy:

            1. Take the time to study the host website

            Guest blogging is not only an optimizing strategy. It is also a way of getting your voice heard across the web. Browsing the website you are planning to submit your post to will allow you understand what its readership is. You will thus be able to choose an interesting topic and to adapt your writing style accordingly. Take the host website’s architecture into consideration when picking your topic and check whether the subject hasn’t already been approached. If this is the case, ask yourself the following question: Can I bring a different perspective and new pieces of information? If the answer is negative, brainstorm for another topic.

            2. Write for your audience

            A common mistake bloggers frequently do is writing for search engines and losing sight of their readers. If they want to increase their pages’ position, most webmasters will reject over-optimized keywords stuffed articles for a simple reason: Google penalizes such blogging behavior and no one wants to fall in the disgrace of the virtual world’s major player. Research your keywords and introduce them naturally, without overdoing it.

            3. Turn the author’s bio into a marketing tool

            Craft a detailed bio, providing the relevant pieces of information that position you as an expert in the field you are writing about. This increases your words’ credibility. With the amount of information currently available on the World Wide Web, anyone can write about anything. However, this does not make them experts in the topic they are blogging about. Therefore, when writing the bio, explain your readers why they should take your opinions into consideration.

            4. Respect your quality standards




            If your article is meant to be uploaded on somebody else’s blog, this does not mean that you don’t have to respect your usual quality standards. Structure your ideas, pick your words, and check your spelling and grammar as if you were writing for your own website. After all, each guest post takes back to your pages. A poorly organized article or one filled with typos is not likely to persuade readers to click on the links you inserted. Such a guest post will bring little benefits to your blog.

            5. Check your facts

            Informative well written articles are more likely to be accepted. Do your homework, make a proper research and check your facts. Nothing could be more embarrassing both for you and for the webmaster who has published your post than a comment proving your sayings wrong.

            6. Avoid self promotion

            It is true that guest blogging is meant to make your pages more visible and to drive traffic towards them, but too much self promotion will only decrease your post’s chances of being accepted. The best strategy is to find blogs and websites focused on an adjacent topic. For instance, if you have a photography blog, you can look for travel, wedding or party planning websites.

            7. Choose your host carefully




            Just like in the offline world, the entourage says many things about you. This is a crucial criteria search engines use to calculate a website’s page rank. Therefore, evaluate your relationships carefully. Spammers are the worst alliance within the blogging world. A glance at Alexa toolbar will provide you with valuable information about your potential host. Check out the website’s rank, the back links redirecting to it and the traffic flow its pages have been driving.

            8. Introduce yourself

            When pitching a guest blogging opportunity, start by introducing yourself. You don’t have to send over your curriculum vitae. Keep things simple. Provide your potential host bloggers with the pieces of information they need in order to trust you. It is advisable you use your real name, but even if you don’t, be persistent. Pick a suggestive pen name and stick to it. When approaching a blogger for the first time, show samples of previous posts you have published and come up with a topic. You could also mention the social media channels through which you are planning to promote your post. Proving that you have a good number of Facebook likes or Twitter followers may give you more chances to have your post accepted.

            9. Create a personal relationship

            The first step is to personalize your message. Canned e-mails put people off and this will decrease your chances of getting an answer, left aside having your article published. Then, try to engage with your peer webmaster on topics that would concern you both. You may not get together for a beer, especially if your host blogger lives on the other side of the Earth, but it will help you open new doors and discover new opportunities.

            10. Don’t take no for an answer

            Although the above mentioned pieces of advice will certainly decrease your chances of rejection, nobody’s perfect. If your peer blogger does not accept your post, ask for details about the reasons. Remain polite and take the rejection as an improvement opportunity. Brush up your article and re-submit it, letting the host blogger know about the amendments you made and thanking for the chance.
            By following these simple tips, you will increase your chances of having your posts accepted from the very first submission, even if you are approaching the most demanding webmasters. This will help you create valuable relationships within the blogging world and build a successful guest blogging campaign.

            Source : 10 Awesome Tips for Successful Guest Blogging



            Is your online marketing effective? What techniques can you add that will increase its effectiveness—and therefore your ROI? If you’re not currently using these seven techniques, you’re missing out on some of the most effective campaign options.
            1. The Press Release
            Just about any event with a business can be turned into a press release with the help of a skilled writer. Submitting those press releases to highly trafficked sites helps a business in two ways. First, it provides media coverage and gets the business’s name out there, and second, it boosts search engine rankings because of the high weight of links on these sites in the eyes of Google. To start using press releases, simply hire an experienced freelancer and submit them.
            1. Retargeting
            What happens when your marketing techniques work perfectly and a visitor comes to your site, only they fail to take action? Retargeting follows these visitors and tries to get them back to your site to complete their transaction. Retargeting can be implemented through email marketing and pay-per-click ads. With email marketing, you can send a follow up email to the visitor who left the site without making a purchase. With pay-per-click ads, you can set up your ad campaign to show ads pointing the visitor back to the page if he leaves without making a purchase.
            1. Social Media Integration
            You probably already know that you should be using social media to help market your site, but if it’s not integrated the rest of your marketing efforts, including blogging, email marketing and mobile marketing, you could be missing out. How can you do this? Just add sharing buttons to your content and email newsletters, then provide people with content they’ll be inclined to share. Then, create a viable presence for your business on several major social platforms. It will take off from there.
            1. Effective Landing Pages
            Landing pages are not new as an advertising technique, but making them effective is the difference between success and failure. One way to make your landing page more effective is to offer something. A limited time offer or special discount is going to tempt people to take action. Simply showing what you offer and asking them to buy is not going to be effective. Test different types of offers until you find the one that works for your target audience.
            1. SoLoMo Marketing
            SoLoMo marketing refers to marketing to “social, local, mobile” customers. People who are visiting your site on their mobile devices are increasingly social and interested in local marketing, because they are using their phones to find out what is available to them right now where they are. Capitalize on this by integrating local search terms into your mobile sites and ensuring that your sites are fully optimized for mobile users.
            1. Phone Marketing
            Not all marketing has to be digital. In fact, with the rise of digital marketing, some experts feel that picking up the phone and talking to your target market can be quite effective. If you have captured phone numbers for customers and clients, consider giving them a call. Call to ask for a quick feedback survey, and you’ll gather important information about your customers while making effective personal contacts.
            1. Email Marketing
            Email marketing isn’t dead. If you can target it well and provide the reader with something helpful, it can be quite effective. Consider pulling together a compelling newsletter that people will want to read. If you give them valuable information, they’ll be more inclined to click through and interact with your site.
            Today’s marketers have a plethora of tools at their disposal. Knowing which ones to implement to effectively reach your target market is the key to success. With these seven ideas, you can create a successful online marketing campaign that will reach the modern audience.

            Source : 7 Marketing Methods Every Internet Marketer Should Know


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